Day 1

Standard

Today was my first day back to work after being off for 2 months.  I was excited to go back to work.  I missed my kiddos and the routine.  I didn’t miss having to get out of bed before the sun even came up!  My oldest would tell me “Mom, the sun’s not up, so it’s time to go back to bed!”  I totally agree.  But alas, I had to go.  Thankfully this morning wasn’t too crazy.  I had planned out my meals for the week, including breakfasts and lunches.  I grabbed my Green Monster Smoothie and BBQ CHicken quesadilla, along with an energy bar and threw them into a bag.  Dinner for tonight was already defrosted in the fridge and just needed to be put into the crock-pot.  My husband was thoughtful enough to do that for me!  After a long day at school and the first set of shots for my youngest, I came home to a finished dinner, and time to relax.  Dinner was served, eaten, and cleaned up by 6:00!!  Really??  It’s only 8:30 and I am relaxing with my remote.  Both boys are asleep and I am rejuvenating myself for another day of craziness at school.  Tomorrow I will start tutoring afterschool, so I really have to be on my game.  All of the recipes for today came from Once A Month Mom.  I’ve listed them below and added a link.  What’s on the menu for tomorrow?  Breakfast is French Toast (yes, it’s already done and just needs to be put in the toaster), twice baked potato with broccoli and cheese, and dinner is penne with sausage and peppers.  Have a great day everyone!

Green Monster Smoothies
http://annies-eats.com/2011/05/02/green-monster-smoothies/

Yield: 2-3 servings
Ingredients:
1 banana (frozen or not), cut into chunks
1 cup chopped frozen pineapple
1 pear, coarsely chopped
1½ cups orange juice
2½ cups baby spinach leaves, rinsed and dried
1-2 tbsp. honey
3 tbsp. ground flaxseed (optional)

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor and puree until completely smooth.  Taste and adjust sweetness with additional honey, if desired.  Serve immediately.

****(I put them into individual freezer ziplock bags.  Freeze them in a big gallon bag.  Take one out in the morning when you wake up.  It will defrost while you get ready!)  Yes, I ate the spinach!  I don’t usually eat green things, especially if they are healthy!  You can’t taste the spinach, I PROMISE!  Added bonus, my 4-year-old loved this!

 

BBQ Chicken Quesdillas
 
Ingredients
  • cooked, shredded chicken mixed with barbecue sauce (I did this but used 2 chicken breasts instead of the pork)
  • red onion, sliced very thin
  • shredded mozzarella
  • cilantro, chopped
  • extra barbecue sauce for drizzling or dunking
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
Instructions
  1. Heat the oil in a large pan over medium-high heat, careful not to let the oil burn.
  2. Assemble quesadillas according to taste with chicken, onion, mozzarella, and cilantro. You can cover an entire tortilla with the toppings and then top that with another tortilla or you can only cover 1 side of the tortilla and do the fold-over method.
  3. Lower the heat to medium and add quesadilla, cooking for 2 to 3 minutes on each side or until tortillas are golden brown and cheese has melted. Serve with extra barbecue sauce if desired.

After the quesadillas have cooled, wrap each one individually in either wax paper or parchment paper.  Then wrap in foil.  I took one out today, threw it into my lunch bag.  I warmed it in the oven for about 2 minutes.  YUM-O! 

Energy Bar

http://onceamonthmom.com/diet-oamm-nutrient-packed-breakfast-bars-healthy-recipe/

Ingredients

  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds or pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 tablespoon flaxseeds, preferably golden
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds
  • 1 cup Kashi’s Go Lean Crunch
  • 1/3 cup currants
  • 1/3 cup dried apricots, chopped
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries, Craisins or golden raisins, chopped
  • 1/4 cup creamy almond butter, sunflower seed butter, or unsweetened peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup turbinado sugar (optional)
  • 1/4 cup Agave or honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Spray an 8-inch-square pan with non-stick cooking spray.
  3. Spread oats, almonds/pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, flaxseeds and sesame seeds on a rimmed baking sheet. Bake for about 10 minutes. Stir contents and then continue baking another 10 minutes or until the oats are lightly toasted and the nuts are fragrant.
  4. Remove seeds/nuts from oven. Transfer to a large bowl and stir in cereal, currants, apricots and dried cranberries/Craisins/raisins.
  5. In a small pan, combine seed/nut butter, sugar, honey, vanilla, cinnamon and salt. Heat mixture over medium-low heat, stirring frequently, 2-5 minutes, or until the mixture bubbles lightly.
  6. Immediately pour the seed/nut butter mixture over the dry ingredients and mix together thoroughly.
  7. Transfer to the 8-inch-square pan and press the mixture down firmly to make an even layer.
  8. Refrigerate until firm or about 30 minutes.
  9. Cut into 8 bars.

Freezing Instructions

  • Wrap each bar in wax paper and place in freezer bags.

Serving Suggestions

  • Thaw one serving in refrigerator or on counter for about 10 minutes.

Nutritional Information

Servings: 8 • Serving Size: 1 bar • Calories: 245 Fat: 10
Protein: 7 • Carbs: 38 • Fiber: 3 • WW Points: 5 • Points +: 8

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

