Welcome to my blog!

Standard

Wecome to my blog!  This is my first attempt at something like this, so bare with me.  I am starting this blog as a way to track my year of freezer cooking.  I’m a wife, a mom of 2 boys, and a teacher.  My days are long and crazy.  Most days I come home from work with a bag full of work- papers to correct, lesson plans to create, or some otwith ther school related work.  Did I mention I was also tired?  By the time dinner comes, it’s too late to break out the pots, pans, knives, bowlls, etc, and start making dinner.  So we pile into the car, drive through a burger joint, eat 1000’s of empty calories, and return home.  Not only are we not eating healthy, but my car starts to look like a fast food trash can.  The next morning is filled with chaos.  If I’m lucky, I’ll grab a breakfast bar and a frozen lunch before running out the door. 

I’ve done some freezer cooking in the past.  It works like this.  I spend 1-2 days a month prepping, cooking, spearating, and freezing meals for the month.  This includes breakfasts, lunches, and dinners.  It’s a long 2 days, but when I’m done, my cooking (or most of it anyways) for the month is done.  What results is a month of eating at home as a family, and leftovers for lunches.  During the end of my pregnancy, I made 20 more meals and stuffed them into my 2 small freezers.  (I really do need a stand alone freezer!)  When life with the new baby was hectic, we pulled out a frozen dinner, defrosted it and either warmed it up or threw it in the oven for a bit.  Alas, a homecooked meal on the table!

I can’t take all the credit for these great meals.  In fact, I can’t take any credit at all.  I’ve got 2-3 books dedicated to make ahead meals and freezer cooking.  I have also fallen in love with the ladies at www.onceamonthmom.com.  They provide me with a new menu each month, a grocery list, and great lables for my freezer bags.  This month I’ve combined their traiditional, whole foods, and diet menus to fill my freezer.   

So with the new year upon us, and my returning to work, my freezer cooking is back in full force.  My goal (not a resolution, as those are often broken within a month) is to continue with my freezer cooking this year, eating heathier meals at home, and spending more time with my family.  Each week I’ll post our menu on Sunday.  I’ll share with you what we’ve had for dinner and the recipe too! 

Here’s to a year of eating from my freezer!

Leave a Reply

