My freezer saved me

Standard

Today started out with a plan.  I had a great breakfast cookies (yes I said cookies!) and yogurt.  Lunch was my yummy citrus chicken salad.  I was working at school this evening, planning for the next week, when my husband got called into work.  I rushed home with my work in toe.  Thankfully dinner was already going.  When things changed on a dime, and we all know that things don’t always go as planned, I was still able to get a healthy dinner on the table before bedtime!  Tonight’s dinner was Terryiaki Honey Chicken served with white rice.  It was one of the best chicken dishes I’ve had, and all I had to do was pop it in the over for 40 minutes while the rice cooked in the rice cooker.

Lately I’ve been chatting up my freezer cooking with fellow teachers and other friends.  Everyone has found a reason for doing some freezer cooking.  For some it’s a long commute each day with little time at home.  For others it’s being able to serve a homemade meal with fewer preservatives in it while still having time for their kids and family.  Whatever you reason, and whether you decide to spend 2 whole days cooking once a month or a few hours throughout the month making a few meals to have in case of emergency, I hope you will find this blog and the recipe here helpful. 

I’ll post today’s recipes tomorrow.  It’s been a long day and my pillow is calling!  Thank goodness tomorrow is Friday, and dinner is already in the fridge.  The lunches are packed (thankfully there was leftover chicken) and breakfasts are ready.  Though I may just have to treat myself to a donut on the way to school tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

