A relaxing Sunday

Standard

It’s days like today that I am thankful for my organization and freezer.  My house is clean, the laundry is actually ALL done and put away.  This is possible because I’ve had a few minutes each night to keep up on the cleaning since I wasn’t cleaning up a huge mess in my kitchen.  I’ve got tonight’s dinner sitting on the stove pizza! This means I can relax on the couch with my happy 9 week old and watch football!  I should be correcting papers, but since tomorrow is a holiday, I’ll do it then.  My husband is off today so it’s family time!  This doesn’t happen often since my husband works nights and weekends.

Frozen pizza is probably in all of your freezers.  This is a must have for busy working parents.  I too have frozen pizza in my fridge only I have frozen pizza dough made from scratch and fresh toppings.  It doesn’t take long to roll out the dough, put the toppings on, and pop it in the oven.  In fact, the assembly takes place while the oven is warming.  If you have kids, they will love ‘helping’ to make the pizza.  My 4-year-old is a great helper spreading the sauce, sprinkling the cheese, and adding his favorite toppings.  It’s a great way to spend some time with him. 

The dough comes together very quickly.  If you’re afraid of making doughs that require yeast, you’re not alone.  But this one is easy.  Add all the ingredients in the bowl, mix, let rest, and then either refrigerate or use.  Make a double batch to have some dough to freeze for later.  It couldn’t be easier than that.  I adapted this recipe slightly be adding 1.5 tablespoons of garlic powder to the dough. 

Have a great Sunday afternoon everyone!

Homemade Pizza Dough

http://onceamonthmom.com/homemade-pizza-dough/

Author/Source:

Kelly @ Onceamonthmom.com

Ingredients:

  • 2.75 cups lukewarm water
  • 1.5 Tablespoons granulated active yeast
  • 1.5 Tablespoons kosher salt
  • 1 Tablespoon sugar
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 6.5 cups unbleached organic all purpose flour

Directions:

1) Mix the yeast, salt, sugar and olive oil with the water in a large bowl

2) Mix in the flour without kneading, using a wooden spoon.

3) Cover (not airtight), and allow to rest at room temperature for about two hours.

4) Use for a pizza immediately or place in refrigerator and let sit for at least four hours before storing.

Freezing Directions:

After dough has sat in refrigerator for at least four hours, divide for big pizzas or small, whatever your choosing. wrap dough with plastic wrap or parchment paper. Place in a freezer bag and into freezer. To serve: Let dough thaw in refrigerator. Remove from bag, dust with flour and roll out or stretch for your pizza!

**When ready to prepare: Preheat oven to 450 degrees. If you have a pizza stone, place in oven for preheat.  Bake for 15 minutes or until crust is golden brown and toppings are bubbly.**

Servings: 2 large pizza, or 3 medium pizzas, or 4 small pizzas, or 16 small calzones/sandwich pockets

 

*** NOTE: When getting ready to use your dough, it will be very sticky.  I chilled mine for about 6 hours because I was leaving.  With some added flour when preparing it, it was fine.

Leave a Reply

