Muffins Muffins Muffins

Standard

This weekend I came across a recipe for Lemon Poppyseed Muffins on Once a Month Mom.  I had already made all my freezer recipes for this month, but this recipe looked to good to pass up.  If you know me, You know I am not a fan of little muffins.  If I’m going to eat a muffin, let’s eat a muffin!  I made them in my jumbo muffin pan.  Oh my, did these turn out soo good.  They were super moist, thanks to the yogurt.  In fact, they didn’t even make it to the freezer.  Mason ate one right out of the oven, he’s my official taste tester, and then they were breakfast this morning.

Lunch was my pizza muffins.  These muffins received mixed reviews.  My son and I loved them, but my husband said they were awful!  So I’m not sure what to say to that.  These too were jumbo sized.  I had mine cold today, Mason heated his up.  I guess I won’t have to worry about sharing them with the hubby though.  The delicious recipe was posted yesterday.

Tonight’s dinner was supposed to be steak.  I was looking forward to a warm dinner tonight after what turned out to be a very cold day!  Winter has finally arrived.  Well, being a teacher means my job doesn’t usually end at the end of the day.  In fact, as most teachers can relate, I have been bringing home papers to correct and then I take them back to school the next day, in the same un-corrected state.  So in an effort to STOP the insanity, I went back to work this evening to correct papers instead of bringing them home.  Therefore dinner didn’t make it to the table in the planned form.  It was in the form of drive-thru.  Oh well, that means steak for dinner tomorrow and the added bonus is that my husband will be home to share it with us!

Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

http://onceamonthmom.com/lemon-poppyseed-muffins/#comment-118036

Author/Source:

Kristi @ Onceamonthmom.com Adapted from Poppy Seed Poundcake Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tablespoon poppy seeds
  • 0.25  teaspoon salt
  • 0.5 teaspoon baking soda
  • 0.5 cups unsalted butter (1 stick)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs (or egg substitute)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon zest
  • 1 cup plain yogurt (we use whole milk yogurt; I don’t suggest using non-fat)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat  oven to 400. Line muffin pan with paper liners or spray each muffin cup with a non stick vegetable spray. In a bowl, whisk the flour with the poppy seeds, salt, and baking soda.

In the bowl of your electric mixer, or with a hand mixer, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

Beat in the lemon zest, yogurt, and vanilla extract until well blended. Stir in the flour mixture just until moistened. Do not over mix. Spoon the batter into the muffin cups using an ice cream scoop. Bake at 400 for about 18 – 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool for about five minutes before removing from pan.

Freezing Directions:

AFTER baking, divide among gallon freezer bags and freeze. To serve: Thaw. Microwave 30 seconds.

Leave a Reply

