Ahh, back to reality

Standard

Well, after taking a few days off, I’m back.  I’ve become addicted to Pinterest.  It’s like a black hole… you just keep clicking on one thing that leads you to another, and another, and before you know it, it’s 10:00, the kids have fallen asleep, and you haven’t eaten yet, or done the work you brought home to do!  The plus side is you’ve come across some great websites dedicated to freezer cooking and some wonderful looking recipes that can easily be converted to freezer recipes.  But tonight I am cooking dinner, cleaning up the house, and will attempt to do some school work.  The last part is doubtful, though my students would be happy if I did.

Dinner tonight and hopefully tomorrow’s leftovers is Buttermilk chicken.  We all know (or should) that when you fry chicken, you should dunk it in buttermilk first.  This makes the chicken more tender.  So imagine you’ve soaked the chicken in buttermilk overnight and let it really marinade.  Add some fresh herbs, and you have a great dish.  I’ll be grilling it on the indoor grill.  I’ve done this recipe with split breasts as well and grilled them outside.  It’s a favorite dish of my husband’s.

As the month winds down, I find that my freezer is also getting empty.  This is to be expected.  What will I cook for next month?  Is there anything you’re looking forward to?  Let me know if you have any requests.  I’m going to be making some more smoothies (they’re so easy!), muffins, meatloaves, and some chicken tacos that cook in the crock pot.  The problem is that my weekends are pretty busy for a while.  I’m hoping my freezer will last me until I can get to a 3 day weekend to do my cooking.

 

Buttermilk Herb Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 tablespoon rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 2 pounds Chicken (breasts, legs, thighs, wings, you choose.  Bone in or boneless)

 

Nothing complicated about this one….

Combine everything except the chicken in a large ziplock bag.  Add chicken and let marinade in the refrigerator overnight.  Remove chicken from the bag and discard the marinade.  Grill over medium heat inside on a grill pan or outside on the grill until chicken reaches 170F.

Want to freeze this for another day? No problem.  Follow the directions above and place your labeled bag into the freezer.  When you’re ready to cook this, just thaw it first and grill.  Add some veggies to the grill and you’ve got a great summer dinner!

NOTES:  Make sure you are careful when handling chicken.  Don’t want to buy buttermilk for this one recipe?  No worries.  I used to say the same thing.  Or I’d buy buttermilk and then feel compelled to use it all.  Not anymore.  I stumbled upon a small round contained of dried buttermilk in the baking aisle one day.  You spoon out the needed amount and add water.  Store it in your refrigerator and use it when you need it, not when you have to use before it expires!

reciped based on the http://onceamonthmom.com/buttermilk-herb-chicken-breasts/ by Kelly @ Onceamonthmom.com

Leave a Reply

