Love my slow cooker!

Standard

Another week down….. this teacher only has a few more weeks until vacation. Friday’s are always long days… everyone is tired from the week, this teacher has the week’s worth of homework to correct and the week ahead to prep for, and my kiddos at home are ready for a break from the normal homework and bath routine. Usually we have homemade pizza on Friday’s. Tongiht however it was something from the slow cooker since we helped a friend at a pizza fundraiser last night. So wehn we went to work, dinner was already in the slow cooker doing it’s magic. It’s a wonderful feeling to come home after a long day and week to dinner warming and waiting for us… I have a favorite slow cooker. I’ve used one for as long as I can remember, and growing up my mom used one too. I had a smaller one that the crock didn’t come out of (not my favorite), a bigger one that had a dial and the crock removed to be washed, and my current one that I LOVE! Why you ask? It’s also my rice cooker! We bought it on a whim at Costco. (You’ve all bought something at Costco that wasn’t on your list, admit it!) It cooks both white and brown rice, slow cooks, steams, has a delay, and goes to warm when the timer is done. Here it is at Amazon. Here is tonight’s Parmasean Honey Pork roast. Hubby was great and made up a quick pot of pasta with a butter/parmesean sauce and some steam broccoli. Here’s to a wonderful weekend everyone!

Recipe from Joyously Domestic

Ingredients:

1 (3 – 4 pound) boneless pork roast
⅔ cup grated Parmesan cheese (yes, the powdered kind in the shaker canister)
½ cup honey
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon dried basil
2 tablespoons minced garlic
2 tablespoons olive oil
½ teaspoon salt

For Thickening Sauce –

2 tablespoons cornstarch
¼ cup cold water

Directions:

NOTE: The original recipe did not call for the roast to be seared first on the stove-top in a little oil, but I had already done so and it turned out great. So, I think it’s up to you.

Spray slow cooker with non-stick cooking spray. Place roast in slow cooker.

In a small bowl, combine the cheese, honey, soy sauce, basil, garlic, oil and salt. (I found the mixture to be a little too thick to pour over the roast [as instructed in the next step of the recipe], so I added in a tad bit of water to the mixture – maybe 1/2 – 1 cup.)

Pour over pork.

Cover and cook on low for 6 – 7 hours or until a meat thermometer reads 160°.

Remove meat to a serving platter and keep warm. (I cover mine with a little foil.)

Skim fat from cooking juices, if needed or desired. Transfer to a small saucepan. Bring liquid to a boil. Combine cornstarch and the 1/2 cup water until smooth. Gradually stir into pan. (I found that I did not need all of the cornstarch slurry.) Bring to a boil. Cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Slice roast and serve with gravy. (I didn’t use all of the sauce.)

Leave a Reply

