A Relaxing weekend!

Standard

The heat has finally taken a back seat. Don’t get me wrong, I live in California and it’s going to be hot this summer… 100+ is expected, just not in May! The end of the school year is just around the corner, and without some careful planning, things can spiral out of control very quickly! Saturday we charged up the gas grill and spent the day outside. Sitting in my freezer was a one of my favorite fish dishes, and a favorite of my 6 year old too-Grilled Orange Salmon. It’s a simple dish to prepare on your freezer day and grills up quickly on the grill. I had some homemade rice-a-roni left over and some pineapple…dinner served outside with a gentle breeze. A wonderful ending to a great day outside. This is the time of year that I love… Not too hot, not too cool, just right. As an added bonus, there were only a few dishes that slipped right into the dishwasher when dinner was done. Back to relaxing!

As I started thinking about the next month’s menu, I knew that the summer heat was coming. Some of you might wonder if I freezer cook in the summer since I’m not in school. The answer is yes. I’m teaching summer school for the first time, and it will be HOT this summer. My kitchen is in the same room as my tv room which is also on the westside of our house. You make anything on the stove or oven and your sweating too death. So, I’ll be using the crock pot and grill a ton! As an added treat, I’ll be cooking with my sister in law this month. I’m so excited to have someone to join me.

Grilled Orange Salmon
From The Everything Freezer Meals Cookbook

1/2 C orange juice
1/2 C honey
2 teaspoons orange zest
1 Tablespoon teriyaki sauce
2 1/2 lb salmon filet

Freezing day:
Combine all ingredients in a gallon sized bag. Add the salmon and seal. Freeze.

Cooking day:
Thaw in the refrigerator. Remove the salmon from the marinate and discard the marinade. Grill over medium heat skin side down until it flakes.

I have been using the frozen salmon fillets from Costco. They don’t have skin one them are individually wrapped, but easy to use! They can be a cheaper option in you want to indulge in this super yummy and healthier fish while staying in that budget tight rope.

Leave a Reply

